Glen’s Bakehouse – Twice the Happiness

Happiness for me is gorging on a generous slice of Cheesecake, out in the open, just allowing your senses to take it all in. Imagine a lovely old cottage-like homely atmosphere, the lingering smell of freshly baked goodies and some of the best looking pastries to ogle at. This is what I call desserted-dream-land, well don’t get me wrong, but this place is never deserted.

Red Velvet with Cream Cheese Frosting, an unanticipated dessert bubble that overtook the dessert market a few years ago. After which it’s just everywhere, from Red Velvet Cheesecake to red velvet shake, the world was struck with this horrible Red-velvet fever and it’s still recovering.Personally, I’m not a big fan, well there’s only so much a few drops of food coloring and a ting of cocoa can do. But what I love most about this cake is how well it’s paired with the Cream Cheese Frosting and there are very few restaurants that get it right. Glen’s is definitely one place where I’ve eaten one of the best and most authentic Red Velvet cakes. The also have a mini version for all the calorie counters out there.

IMG_4884
My favorite – Salted Caramel Cheesecake

They have two outlets in Bangalore – one in Indranagar, adjacent to Toit, when Toit is packed (when is it not) and you’ve to wait for a ridiculously long time, ensure you visit Glen’s to try some of their delicacies. Their other outlet is on Lavelle Road, I prefer this outlet as there is more seating space and it’s not as crammed as the Indranagar one.

I’ve only been here for Dessert and Coffee, so can’t really comment on the other stuff. Once after bingeing on some of their desserts, I did try their Potato Mustard Salad once, and that was a huge mistake, it was rather sour and it just spoilt my taste. My favorite is the Salted Caramel Cheesecake, love the way the gooey salted caramel topping mingles with the creamy baked cheesecake. It’s also light and not too sweet. The Blueberry Cheesecake is also a great choice. I am not a huge fan of coffee, chai being my weakness, but I tried their signature coffee, creamy and and sweet, apparently created as a replacement for dessert. Well you can’t fool me with that.

The also have a Sunday Brunch which is quite famous, I haven’t tried it yet though. Overall a great place to hangout out with friends and appease your sweet-tooth. Also ensure you go on your cheat day, else you’ll be stuck eating a sour salad with a sour face.

IMG_4912
And it’s time to say Goodbye

Recommendation : Dessert, anytime of the day actually 🙂 You could even order a whole cake if you have a friend who’s crazy about Red Velvet.

 

 

 

Glen's Bakehouse Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

