Punjab Grill – 5th Anniversary Celebrations

Oyeeee! Punjab Grill turns 5!*drumroll*

img_8876-001

It’s been five years since Punjab Grill opened its doors and introduced us Bangaloreans to authentic Punjabi khanna fit for the kings. To commemorate its 5th anniversary, Punjab Grill hosted a special dinner with a 16 course degustation menu (yes you heard me right, 16 courses) called the Punjab Grill Signature Series. Well even though it was degustation menu, with Punjabi food, it’s pure hedonistic in every sense. From ‘utterly butterly’ delicious rotis to sinful starters and the most innovative concoctions to accompany it. I think my tummy even did its own version of a happy dance to the hit number Kaala Chasma 😉

img_8827

The event saw people from all walks of life – hardcore foodies, to the elegant food connoisseurs to expats in search of some authentic Indian food and people like me for whom everything Punjabi holds a special place. Punjabi cuisine needs no introduction, it’s one cuisine that every foodie loves and one that every weight watcher dreads. The Signature Series at Punjab Grill stays true to authentic Punjabi flavors with a contemporary twist that’s sure to surprise you. The special menu has been curated by renowned Chef -Nishant Choubey.

img_8834

They had some interesting cocktails- the famous Kahwa Ice Tea was my favorite, some of the other interesting ones were the Gulkand and Aam Panna Martini. We began our culinary journey with the amuse bouche, a small bite-sized piece of watermelon topped with black garlic to stimulate the appetite. Frankly speaking, after one look at the menu, my appetite needed no stimulation, but it was a rather interesting start. Fire Roasted Cottage Cheese topped with an orange sirachi marmalade and tamarind foam followed, the crisp paneer cube soaked in all the flavors and I loved the twist – marmalada, sirachi and tamaraind, who would have even thought of this, innovation at its best indeed. Next stop we were served the Khumb Palak Aur Corn Tikki and Pakoras, both of which were delicious with an interesting mix of toppings. My favorite dish of the lot was the Magaz, which had a very unique smooth texture which I quite liked but it was frowned upon by the purists.

img_8840

One of my favorite namkeens – Mathri was the next to take its place on my plate, and god was I delighted, the rich savory puff pastry of sorts with a beautiful perfectly sweet murabba just left me wanting more.Psst Carolyn it’s a 16 course menu, how can you possibly ask for seconds.

img_8838

So I just let this divine taste linger in my mouth till the next dish arrived which to my surprise was the Raan –tender, perfectly cooked meat with toasted almond which added a lovely  crunch.

img_8851

The next two dishes on the menu (Steamed Duck Masala Potli and the Tandoori Mustard Prawns) never arrived, so let me make a quick correction- 16 courses, out of which 2 were of the disappearing kind! How I wish I was served the prawns, just imagine juicy prawns with a lovely apricot chutney and a ting of wasabi. The next dish made up for the case of the disappearing dishes, it was the delicious Soft Shell Crab, crunchy on the outside, topped with a thin layer of the lemon chutney, a bite into this and you’ll be taken to wonderland. Just to warn you, my food coma started hitting me at this very moment. So before I reached a state of no return, I had a quick bite of the Hyderabadi Nihari with Boti, the Nihari ,a lovely broth full of flavors.

img_8857

And then, maybe it was a solution to my recurring condition (food coma)that I was going into, my mouth was suddenly hit by a salt storm 😛 The Rajma Kichdi in all it’s grandeur with some sort of pickled tomatoes and Wadi just left us a tad bit disappointed, but maybe it was a recommended prescription to recover from our present situation. Lastly to end our meal(I know Phew), we had the Paan Kulfi,  a beautifully plated dish which came with a Gulkhand Chikki. The Chikki was a lot like the Eclair chocolate that clings to your teeth like there’s no end, but the kulfi served as a fabulous end to out meal.

img_8862

Overall it was a great event, met a lovely bunch of people and it left my tummy khush khush!

Sadly the Signature Series menu was on for only 2 days, it ended on 25th September, but you can still head to Punjab Grill to enjoy some dil punjabi food, don’t forget to try their Butter Chicken and Litchi Ki Tehra, their Biryani is pretty kickass too.

IMG_8880-001.JPG

Moolah : 1599 + taxes (a meal for two without alcohol will come to the same)

Location: SJR Primus, Ground Floor, Opposite Forum Mall, 7th Block, Koramangala, Bengaluru, Karnataka 560095

Contact for reservations :080 4090 2161

Website: http://www.punjabgrill.in/
Punjab Grill Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

